Dean's Gun Restoration
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 5
1 2 3 4 5 LastLast

Thread: Novice Buys First Springfield 1903: Is it safe to shoot?

Default Novice Buys First Springfield 1903: Is it safe to shoot?

Just purchased my first Springfield 1903. (PIcs below.) I'm a novice to the problem with low ser number 1903's and am trying to find out if mine is safe to shoot. Details:

Ser No is 235188
    Armory Stamps on left grip include: RA-P and what looks like FJA with RA-P overstamped
    Receiver appears to be Parkerized
    Bolt appears to be blued
    Stamps just south of front sight read "RIA 1-19"

I have concluded that the ser no was assigned in 1906. That the rifle was assembled in 1919. That at some point in its life it received some mods at Remington.

Can anyone please comment? Thanks very much in advance.

v/r,
    LWW
    Attached Images

Rifle was originally produced in 1906. Rebarreled most likely during a rebuild with a Rock Island 1919 barrel. Most likely rebuilt during WW2 as well. The stock is a non-fingergroove "S" type produced during WW2. RA-P is a rebuild stamp for Raritan Arsenal. Stock probably produced at Remington (FJA). It's one of the low numbered Springfields. Whether safe to shoot, that's one of those great debates.

It is known that the single heat treat receivers are brittle, that they don't have near the safety margin of the double heat treat receivers, and that when they do fail they do so catastrophically, so it just comes down to whether you want to shoot it with that information. Some shoot them and some don't.

LeagleEagle is right about the great debate. There is a pretty good chance the rifle is perfectly safe to shoot. However, and this is a big however, if the receiver is inproperly heat treated it can fail. If it fails it will probably be due to a ruptured cartridge case head. Such failures cause the reciever to shatter in low number rifles spraying fragments like shrapnel in every direction.