Dean's Gun Restoration
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2
1 2 LastLast

Thread: John Masen M1 Carbine 5 round blocked Magazines, from Midway

Default John Masen M1 Carbine 5 round blocked Magazines, from Midway

Hey,

I've been shooting the M1 carbine for a couple of years at 200 yards, perhaps 6 times a year.

Failure to feed is the problem which I currently attribute to 10 round mags. From Midway, I bought some 15 round magazines blocked to only hold 5 rounds.

Anyone try these?

This is a Fulton rebuild from a CMP S'G' barreled receiver returned from El Salvador or so as I understood. Nice rifle...often get ribbed trying to shoot at 200yds, but I figure if the Marines could land at Iwo with these, they might just be adequate. One fellow called out behind me, whether I had asked my daughter if I could shoot her gun and promised he would applaud if I got an 'x'. He was applauding within three rounds.

This time I discovered the trigger group pin had fallen out during reassembly, easy diagnosing on that issue; the last three rounds would refuse to chamber...

Best,

Sully

When you say "trigger group pin" are you refering to the pin that actually holds the trigger housing assembly to the receiver? This pin is located directly under the receiver's barrel hole. Assuming that you have the most recent pin, that pin should NEVER fall out as it is held in place by the stock. Perhaps you have a wrong pin in there. A hammer pin will fit in there, but is is a sloppy loose fit.

As far as the failure to feed issues goes, there could be several things causing that problem. I'll just mention a couple for now:

1. Try a USGI 15 rd. magazine with feed lips that are in perfect condition.
    2. Use USGI 110 gr. Ball ammo.
    3. Make sure the weapon has been properly cleaned and lubed, including the chamber.
    4. Make sure that the gas piston is free and that the gas piston nut is tight and lightly staked in place.