Otis Gun Care
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2
1 2 LastLast

Thread: Difference between standard and rear lug new manufacture M14 receivers?

Default Difference between standard and rear lug new manufacture M14 receivers?

I am a complete newb when it comes to M14s/M1As - can someone tell me what is the difference is between standard and rear lug new manufacture M14 receivers? I have an ART II scope with mount so I have considered building up a M14-type rifle to hang it on, but I really don't know where to start collecting info. Thanks.

Funny, I was just about to ask a similar question, just more general. What's the difference between the M14 and M1A? Is it just like the AR15 being the civilian version of the M4/M16?

Default Google is your friend...

Google m14/m1A and you will find a ton of good info including forums dedicated almost solely to that subject. www.springfield-armory.com and allso www.fulton-armory.com are valuable sources of info as is this board. Basically the M-14 was the military issued select fire weapon and the M1A is the semi auto only model.

Unless you are a competitive shooter, you won't be able to tell any difference in performance in the rear lugged receiver.

Thanks, I have no plans to be a competitive shooter, but instead just want a resonable facsimile of the M14 that I can shoot.

An M1A is an M14 Type rifle made only by Springfield Armory (Inc.) and a rear lug is an extra lug welded onto the receiver (under the receiver heel) during manufacture, meant to extend the life of the bedding of the rifle. Double lugs on a receiver also serve the same purpose of extending bedding life.

Hope that helps,

Danny

Quote Originally Posted by mjwaterma View Post
    Funny, I was just about to ask a similar question, just more general. What's the difference between the M14 and M1A? Is it just like the AR15 being the civilian version of the M4/M16?
    Last edited by Danny; 01-25-2010 at 03:19.